Cool lemongrass beef noodles

I’ve had variations on this dish at my local Vietnamese place several times. It seems like almost anything goes with regards to the topping, but the essential ingredients are salad, cool rice noodles, a topping, roasted peanuts, and nuoc cham. I’ve had it before also with chopped up fried spring rolls on top. Here is a general recipe for this kind of dish. I used perilla instead of mint because I had some, and I added some scallion oil on top. Otherwise I pretty much stuck to the above. I’m looking forward to doing variations on this all summer. This is the topping I used:

Lemongrass beef:

  • 2/3 lb tender beef, such as sirloin, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp minced lemongrass
  • 2 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 3 tbsp peanut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced

Marinate the beef with the lemongrass, oyster sauce, and fish sauce for about a half hour. Heat the oil on high in a wok, then saute the garlic and shallot until fragrant. Add beef and cook until done.

About tandooritaco

This is a blog about food.
This entry was posted in beef and lamb, pasta, salad, southeast asian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cool lemongrass beef noodles

  1. Pingback: Toppings for Cold Noodles | Tandoori Taco

Leave a Reply

