Japanese deviled eggs

This dish will probably go unphotographed forever. Whenever I make it, it is for a party, and because it is a party, they instantly disappear.  I always wing it on measurements, but I put my guesses below for a dozen eggs. This has been acclaimed even by people who just don’t like deviled eggs. This is, to my knowledge, a 100% original tandoori taco kitchen creation. The fish roe, the stuff you often find on/in sushi rolls, is essential in my mind for flavor and texture (besides the appeal of having eggs stuffed with smaller eggs), but I imagine this could be quite good without them. Regarding the wasabi/sriracha choice, I slightly prefer the wasabi, but on several occasions I have made both flavors side by side.

Japanese Deviled Eggs:

  • 12 eggs
  • 1/4 cup or more mayonnaise (I use “Kewpie” brand Japanese mayo)
  • wasabi powder or paste, and/or sriracha sauce, to taste
  • about 3 green onions, finely chopped
  • about 1/4 cup flying fish roe (“tobiko” in Japanese)

Hard boil the eggs, slice in half, and scoop out the yolks to a bowl. Mash well. Add the roe and green onions, then enough mayo to produce a creamy but fairly solid consistency. Mix in the wasabi or sriracha. You fill some eggs with one flavor filling and one the other if desired, just don’t mix the two flavors in the same batch of filling.

About tandooritaco

This is a blog about food.
This entry was posted in american, fast, japanese, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

